Glucosamine for dogs is a joint supplement usually paired with chondroitin. Both are building blocks of cartilage (see the basics of healthy dog joints). Evidence in dogs is weak: a 2022 review found improvement in only 1 of 9 glucosamine-chondroitin trials. In a 2023 trial of 75 dogs, the combination performed no better than placebo after 6 weeks. VCA warns of mild stomach upset and drug interactions, so ask your vet first.
Key points
- All 72 trials in the 2022 review involved animals that already had osteoarthritis, so none show what glucosamine does for healthy joints.
- Most veterinary supplements use glucosamine HCl. In one dog study, about 12% of an oral dose reached the bloodstream.
- Ask your vet first if your dog takes certain NSAIDs, insulin or another diabetes medicine, warfarin, heparin, doxorubicin, or sertraline.
- Stop giving it and call your vet immediately if your dog develops irregular breathing, a rash, fever, or swelling around the face.
-
Allow several weeks for a trial. The dog trials that reported their duration ran from 6 weeks to 150 days.
What is glucosamine for dogs, and how does chondroitin fit in?
Glucosamine and chondroitin are building blocks of cartilage sold as supplements. Every dog trial in this article tested the two together. In its human-health reference, the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NIH) explains that glucosamine helps build glycosaminoglycans, molecules that form part of cartilage's structure. Chondroitin is a component of cartilage that helps it withstand pressure.

The glucosamine used in supplements comes from shellfish shells or is made in a lab, according to Mayo Clinic's human-health page on glucosamine. Labels may list glucosamine hydrochloride (HCl), glucosamine sulfate, or N-acetyl glucosamine. The section on forms below explains how they differ.
What does glucosamine do for dogs?
VCA Animal Hospitals describes how the two are thought to work. Glucosamine may help reduce inflammation slightly, and joints use it to make cartilage components. Chondroitin may help limit the breakdown of these components and support their production. These are proposed actions, not effects proven in dogs. Next, we'll explain what the dog trials found.
This article discusses chondroitin only in combination with glucosamine.
Does glucosamine work for dogs? What the studies show
Not reliably. In the dog trials and reviews below, glucosamine-chondroitin showed mixed results at best. The newest review advises against recommending it for arthritis pain.
The table below lists five dog trials and three reviews. Details of the trials from 2003 to 2012 come from a 2017 review in the Open Veterinary Journal.
| Study (year) | Design | Dogs | Amount studied (not dosing advice) | Length | Result | Funding or note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Aragon review (2007) |
Systematic review | 16 trials | Not reported | Not reported | "Moderate level of comfort" for one glucosamine HCl, chondroitin sulfate and manganese ascorbate combination, but the lack of response and the few controlled trials made any recommendation difficult | Not reported |
| Moreau (2003) | Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 71 dogs over 20 kg with osteoarthritis | Capsules of 500 mg glucosamine HCl, 400 mg chondroitin sulfate and 75 mg manganese ascorbate; number of capsules by body weight | Not reported | No statistically significant improvement in any outcome by the end of the trial, with the product or with placebo | Not reported |
| McCarthy (2007) | Randomized, double-blind; compared with the drug carprofen | 42 enrolled, 35 finished | 1 g, 1.5 g or 2 g of active ingredients twice daily for dogs of 5 to 19.9 kg, 20 to 40 kg and over 40 kg | Results at day 70 | Pain, weight-bearing and overall scores improved from baseline by day 70 | No placebo group; 2 dogs on the supplement withdrawn after unspecified adverse reactions |
| D'Altilio (2007) | Controlled, double-blind | 20 | Glucosamine HCl 2,000 mg plus chondroitin sulfate 1,600 mg daily | Not reported | Pain fell, but not significantly; signs returned during a 30-day stop | Not reported |
| Gupta (2012) | Controlled, double-blind | 31 to 37 dogs over 40 lb with moderate osteoarthritis | Glucosamine HCl 2,000 mg plus chondroitin sulfate 1,600 mg daily | Results to day 150 | Pain fell significantly by day 90, with the largest effect at day 150 | Not reported |
| Bhathal review (2017) | Review | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Evidence conflicts; vets commonly recommend the pair, but "the clinical benefit of using these agents remains questionable" | Source of the 2003 to 2012 trial details in this table |
|
Barbeau-Gregoire review (2022) |
Systematic review and meta-analysis | 72 trials (69 in dogs, 3 in cats), all in animals with osteoarthritis | Not reported | Not reported | Only 1 of 9 glucosamine-chondroitin trials showed improvement; the authors say these products "should no longer be recommended for pain management" | Many trials used subjective scores, which are more sensitive to the placebo effect; the authors report past osteoarthritis work for companies and declare no conflict directly related to the review |
|
Kampa trial (2023) |
Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled (Thailand) | 75 dogs with hip osteoarthritis, 16 of them on glucosamine | Tablet of glucosamine HCl, chondroitin and MSM at 30 mg glucosamine HCl per kg of body weight daily | 6 weeks | Did not improve weight-bearing more than placebo; its result "lay between the placebo group and the other treatment groups" | Funded by Pharmalink International, maker of the two mussel products tested; no adverse events reported |
What the reviews concluded
None of the three reviews recommends glucosamine-chondroitin for pain. The 2007 review of 16 trials could not make a recommendation because of “the lack of response and the limited number of controlled clinical trials.” The 2022 review found improvement in only 1 of 9 glucosamine-chondroitin trials and advised that these products no longer be recommended for arthritis pain.
The Merck Veterinary Manual's professional version summarizes a systematic review and meta-analysis that “found no evidence of a beneficial effect.” It concludes that the evidence did not support using these supplements to manage osteoarthritis pain in dogs and cats.
What the dog trials found
- Moreau, 2003: In 71 dogs over 20 kg, neither the glucosamine product nor placebo led to a statistically significant improvement in any measured outcome.
- McCarthy, 2007: The glucosamine-chondroitin group's pain, weight-bearing, and overall scores improved from their starting levels by day 70. The trial compared the supplement with carprofen and had no placebo group.
- D'Altilio, 2007: In 20 dogs, pain decreased, but the change was not statistically significant. Signs returned during a 30-day break from the supplement.
- Gupta, 2012: In dogs over 40 lb with moderate osteoarthritis, pain decreased significantly by day 90, with the largest effect at day 150.
- Kampa, 2023: A green-lipped mussel oil extract, a krill and mussel oil blend, and carprofen each improved peak vertical force more than placebo at weeks 4 and 6. This measures how much weight a dog puts on a leg using a force plate. The glucosamine tablet did not show the same improvement.
Why better scores do not always mean the supplement worked
Improvement from the starting point is not the same as performing better than placebo. The 2007 carprofen trial had no placebo group, so it cannot show how much of the change came from the supplement. The 2022 review also notes that many trials relied on owners' or vets' judgments, which are more sensitive to the placebo effect.
Trial length matters, too. The 2023 trial's authors say 6 weeks may be too short for glucosamine-chondroitin. All 72 trials in the 2022 review involved animals that already had osteoarthritis, so none shows what glucosamine does for healthy joints.
Are glucosamine and chondroitin good for dogs?
For arthritis pain, the strongest evidence suggests they offer little benefit. The 2022 review advises against recommending these products for this purpose. For healthy dogs, none of the trials in this article provide an answer. Many vets still recommend the pair, for reasons explained below.
Why do many vets still recommend glucosamine?
Many vets still recommend it because specialists think it may help slow joint degeneration, although this is not proven. Cornell's sports-medicine and nutrition specialists say few supplements other than fish oil have been definitively proven to slow this process. They believe glucosamine and chondroitin may help slow its progression.

Cornell's specialists broadly recommend fish oil and a glucosamine-chondroitin product. For hip dysplasia, they note that some studies suggest these supplements may help reduce its effects, while others show little to no benefit.
Here are the two views side by side.
| View | What it says |
|---|---|
| What the trials show | A 2007 review of 16 trials could not make a recommendation. A 2022 review found improvement in only 1 of 9 glucosamine-chondroitin trials. In a 2023 trial of 75 dogs, the glucosamine tablet did not beat placebo over 6 weeks. |
| What many vets advise | Cornell's specialists think glucosamine and chondroitin may help slow joint degeneration and recommend a combination product broadly. A 2017 review says vets commonly recommend the pair despite conflicting evidence, often as an add-on or for dogs that cannot tolerate NSAIDs. |
The 2017 review also questions the clinical benefit of these supplements. Cornell adds that omega-3 fatty acids from fish oil have the most support in the research literature. Read more about fish oil and omega-3s for dogs.
Human research provides context, but it cannot settle the question for dogs. GAIT was a 2-year U.S. trial involving 572 people (2008). Changes in joint space width were no different with glucosamine HCl, chondroitin, both, or the drug celecoxib than with placebo, according to the NIH's summary of the research.
Should I give my dog glucosamine?
Decide with your vet, since trial findings and many vets' recommendations do not fully align. Bring the table above, your dog's medication list, and the checklist in the safety section below. Ask what glucosamine would add to your dog's current plan.
Glucosamine hydrochloride vs. glucosamine sulfate: what the label form means
Most veterinary supplements use glucosamine hydrochloride (HCl), which provides more glucosamine per gram than the sulfate form. Earlier studies report that a smaller proportion of HCl reaches the bloodstream when taken by mouth. This summary comes from a 2017 review in the Open Veterinary Journal.
This table summarizes the forms you may see on a label:
| Form | How it appears on a label | What the sources say |
|---|---|---|
| Glucosamine HCl | Glucosamine hydrochloride or glucosamine HCl | More glucosamine per gram than the sulfate salt, but earlier studies report lower oral bioavailability. Used in most veterinary supplements and in every dog trial in this article. |
| Glucosamine sulfate (salt-stabilized) | Glucosamine sulfate or crystalline glucosamine sulfate | Stabilized with salts, usually potassium chloride. VCA lists a low-potassium diet as a reason for caution with glucosamine-chondroitin. |
| N-acetyl glucosamine | N-acetyl glucosamine | Named as a form by Mayo Clinic, a human-health source; no dog studies were found for it. |
Absorption is separate from benefit. In one dog study (Adebowale, 2002), cited in the same 2017 review, about 12% of oral glucosamine HCl and 5% of oral chondroitin sulfate reached the bloodstream. When given together, they were absorbed in as little as two hours. Absorption alone does not show that a supplement helps the joints.
Is glucosamine hydrochloride good for dogs?
It is the form used in most veterinary supplements and the one tested in every trial in this article. Its results are mixed, as shown in the evidence table.
Which form of glucosamine is best for dogs?
No form has been shown to be best in dogs. We found no dog trial that compared the forms directly. If your dog needs a low-potassium diet, ask your vet which form is suitable, since sulfate forms are usually stabilized with potassium chloride.
Is glucosamine safe for dogs?
Glucosamine-chondroitin may cause mild stomach upset, including gas and soft stools, according to VCA Animal Hospitals. Allergic reactions and drug interactions are also possible, so check with your vet before starting.
What side effects can glucosamine cause in dogs?
VCA lists mild stomach upset and, more seriously, allergic reactions as possible side effects. Stop giving it and contact your vet immediately if you notice signs of an allergic reaction:
- Irregular breathing
- A rash
- Fever
- Puffiness and swelling around the face
A 2017 review reports that two dogs receiving glucosamine-chondroitin were withdrawn from the 2007 carprofen comparison after adverse reactions that were not described. The 2023 trial reported no adverse events.
Which dogs need a vet check before glucosamine?
VCA says not to give glucosamine to a dog allergic to any ingredient. Use it with caution in dogs with asthma or another illness that narrows the airways, dogs that need a low-potassium diet, and pregnant or nursing dogs. Some glucosamine comes from shellfish shells. Mayo Clinic notes concerns about allergic reactions in people with shellfish allergies.
Which medicines interact with glucosamine?
VCA advises caution when giving glucosamine-chondroitin with these medicines:
- Certain NSAIDs (firocoxib, diclofenac, carprofen)
- Insulin and other diabetes medicines
- The blood thinners warfarin and heparin
- Doxorubicin and sertraline
Never change or stop a prescribed medicine on your own. Ask your vet whether it can be used with glucosamine-chondroitin.
Human research adds two cautions. Large studies in people found no major safety problems, but glucosamine may raise blood sugar in some people. Glucosamine combined with chondroitin has also been linked to a higher bleeding risk when taken with warfarin, according to the NIH.
Before-you-start checklist for your vet
Bring these details to the appointment:
- Every medicine and supplement your dog takes, including the amounts
- Diabetes, or use of insulin or another diabetes medicine
- Bleeding problems, or use of a blood thinner such as warfarin or heparin
- Asthma or another airway disease
- A low-potassium diet
- Pregnancy or nursing
- A shellfish allergy or any other food allergy
If your dog ate a whole bag of chews or a supplement made for people, call your vet. Overdoses and human products are outside the scope of this article.
If you and your vet decide to try glucosamine
Choose a product made for dogs, follow its label and your vet's advice, and allow several weeks. VCA says the full effect may take that long to appear. Track your dog's mobility in a log so you and your vet can assess the results.
- Choose a product made for dogs. Cornell warns that “supplements are not regulated like medications, and products may not contain what they state on the label.” VCA adds that the FDA does not review these products for safety or effectiveness before they are sold.
- Pick a trusted brand. Cornell advises choosing a brand your veterinarian recommends or one with the National Animal Supplement Council (NASC) seal. The NASC monitors its members to ensure ingredients match the label.
- Follow the label amount and your vet's advice. Cornell says there is no universal recommendation for how much a dog needs each day. Reputable manufacturers are more likely to include effective levels.
- Take care when switching brands. VCA notes that active ingredients may differ between brands.
- Keep a log. Fill in the trial log below before starting and every week afterward, then review it with your vet.
Whatever you decide, follow Cornell's joint-care advice: keep your dog at a lean weight, favor low-impact exercise such as long walks, free running, and swimming, and avoid heavy ball chasing or jumping on hard surfaces. Check your dog's healthy weight before starting.
How long does glucosamine take to work in dogs?
According to VCA, the full effect may take several weeks to appear, although some owners notice changes after a few days. The 2023 trial lasted 6 weeks, which its authors say may be too short for glucosamine-chondroitin. One 2012 trial, reported in a 2017 review, found its largest effect at day 150.
Weekly glucosamine trial log
Fill in these details once:
- Start date: __________
- Product and amount listed on its label: __________
- Vet recheck date: __________
Then copy this table and fill in one row each week, starting the week before the first chew or tablet.
| Week | Rising after rest (easy / slow / struggles) | Stairs or car jump (normal / hesitates / avoids) | Usual walk length | Play | Side effects seen | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Before you start | ||||||
| Week 1 | ||||||
| Week 2 | ||||||
| Week 3 | ||||||
| Week 4 | ||||||
| Week 5 | ||||||
| Week 6 |
Keep adding rows until your vet recheck. The log helps your vet assess the trial's results; it does not diagnose any condition.
Where HolistaPet's Joint Support Soft Chews fit
Give your dog's joint-care routine a convenient daily addition with Joint Support Soft Chews for Dogs. Made for daily use, these vegan-friendly chews contain chondroitin, MSM, curcuminoid, and turmeric. Each bag holds 30 soft chews, making them easy to include in your dog's daily care. Review the ingredients before buying to see whether they fit your dog's needs.
None of the studies in this article tested these chews, so their findings do not apply to them. Use them as an addition to weight control, exercise, and regular vet care, without replacing any of these essentials.
Browse more dog nutrition blogs
Sources
- International Journal of Molecular Sciences (MDPI). A 2022 Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Enriched Therapeutic Diets and Nutraceuticals in Canine and Feline Osteoarthritis. 2022.
- Frontiers in Veterinary Science. Study of the effectiveness of glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate, marine based fatty acid compounds (PCSO-524 and EAB-277), and carprofen for the treatment of dogs with hip osteoarthritis: A prospective, block-randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled clinical trial. 2023.
- VCA Animal Hospitals (Know Your Pet). Glucosamine + Chondroitin. 2025.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NIH). Glucosamine and Chondroitin for Osteoarthritis. 2023.
- Mayo Clinic. Glucosamine. 2025.
- Open Veterinary Journal. Glucosamine and chondroitin use in canines for osteoarthritis: A review. 2017.
- Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association. Systematic review of clinical trials of treatments for osteoarthritis in dogs. 2007.
- Merck Veterinary Manual (Professional Version). Osteoarthritis in Dogs and Cats. 2025.
- Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Riney Canine Health Center. How joint supplements can help with orthopedic conditions. 2025.







Leave a comment
All comments are moderated before being published.
This site is protected by hCaptcha and the hCaptcha Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.